Wednesday, May 23
Today's Hours:

Central 9am-9pm
East 10am-6pm
McCollough 9am-8pm
North Park 9am-8pm
Oaklyn 9am-8pm
Red Bank 9am-8pm
Stringtown 10am-6pm
West 10am-6pm



Check It Out

Courier Article by Erika Qualls
Sunday, February 21, 2010

Now that Harry Potter and Twilight Are Over, Check Out These Series

There is nothing better than starting a book that you cannot put down, only to discover it is the first in a series. I love when I discover a series of books that can keep me involved from the first book to the last. With the Harry Potter and Twilight series now over, it is time to move on to other young adult authors who engage the audience from the very first book.

If you're looking for a good laugh, then you will want to pick up Louise Rennison's Confessions of Georgia Nicholson series, starting with Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging. Georgia is a 14-year-old girl growing up in London with her crazy parents, precocious 3-year-old sister, and her mischievous cat, Angus. With a hilarious sense of humor, Georgia deals with all the issues teenage girls are facing: school, parents, friends, and learning how to snog (kiss). The tenth, and final, book in the series was published in October, and you will laugh your way through all every book.

Another teenage girl dealing with life issues is the focus of L.A. Meyer's Bloody Jack series featuring adventurous teen, Mary Faber. Orphaned at age eight, Mary takes to the streets of 1797 London begging and stealing to survive, but when the leader of her street gang dies, Mary puts on his clothes and changes her name to Jacky. In the first book of the series, Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy, Jacky goes to work as a ship's boy on an English warship. Readers will be a part of Jacky's growing up as she travels the high seas, becomes a pirate, survives Boston high society, makes friends, and falls in love.

Also taking places on the sea is Dave Berry and Ridley Peason's Starcatcher series which starts as a prequel to J.M. Barrie's Peter Pan. The first book of the series Peter and the Starcatchers begins with Peter being sent into slavery on board the Never Land with its fierce captain, Black Stache. New to the story is 14-year-old, Molly Astor, a Starcatcher. The organization of Starcatchers is responsible for capturing the starstuff that falls from the sky. The starstuff is a magical dust that falls to the earth full of happiness, power, intelligence, and the ability to fly. The series- the final book was published in 2007- focuses on Peter and Molly and all their adventures.

Alice in Wonderland gets a different, and more intense, revisiting in Frank Beddor's Looking Glass Wars trilogy beginning with The Looking Glass Wars. Our heroine, Alyss Heart, is forced to flee her home of Wonderland when her evil Aunt Redd kills Alyss's family and friends. Escaping through the Pool of Tears to Victorian London, Alyss is adopted by the Liddell family. Family friend Charles Dodgson writes Alyss's story of her homeland, but no one will believe her. On the day of her wedding, a member of Wonderland military, Hatter Madigan, comes looking for her, and Alyss learns she can save her homeland from her aunt's evil clutches.

All four of these series will keep you reading from book to book. If you are looking for even more young adult series to check out, visit your local EVPL branch today.

Erika Qualls is the Popular Materials Center Supervisor at the Central Library.